Co-presented by KlezCalifornia

1000 Jewish Cookbooks: Yiddish Gems from a Personal Collection, with Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett

Date

Sun Apr 18 2021

Time

PDT
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Location

Online

Drawing from one of the largest collections of Jewish cookbooks in private hands, Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett will talk about how she amassed more than 6000 cookbooks, of which more than 1000 are Jewish cookbooks, over the course of lifetime, starting in childhood. Focusing on the Yiddish cookbooks in her collection, she will explore what these cookbooks reveal about those who wrote them and those who cooked from them.

This free event, presented by the Jewish Community Library, begins 2pm PDT (5pm Eastern, 10pm London, 11pm Paris, midnight Tel Aviv) and lasts one hour.

To register, click below on “MORE INFO” and follow the instructions.

If you are inspired to nosh some Ashkenazi Jewish food while you watch the presentation (or afterwards), check out KlezCalifornia’s listing of sources in the S.F. Bay Area.

Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett is Ronald S. Lauder Chief Curator, POLIN Museum Core Exhibition and University Professor Emerita and Professor Emerita of Performance Studies at New York University. Her books include Destination Culture: Tourism, Museums, and Heritage; Image before My Eyes: A Photographic History of Jewish Life in Poland, 1864–1939 (with Lucjan Dobroszycki); They Called Me Mayer July: Painted Memories of a Jewish Childhood in Poland Before the Holocaust (with Mayer Kirshenblatt); The Art of Being Jewish in Modern Times (with Jonathan Karp); and Anne Frank Unbound: Media, Imagination, Memory (with Jeffrey Shandler).


More Info

Read More