Date

Sun Oct 24 2021

Time

Pacific Time
11:00 am - 12:45 pm

Location

Online
Presented by KlezCalifornia
Co-presented by Chochmat HaLev

Beregovski’s Passport to the Old Country of Klezmer: Raiders of the Lost Charts, a workshop with Mike Perlmutter

Moishe Beregovski is considered to be one of the foremost documenters of Ashkenazi Jewish folk music. From roughly 1929 to 1947, Beregovski made ethnographic trips collecting secular Jewish music in various parts of Soviet Ukraine. His works make up the largest and most carefully notated collection of such music from pre-WWII and early post-war Europe.

Geographies and generations later, klezmer musicians may find themselves trying to make sense of klezmer nomenclature, repertoire, and function. Beregovski’s collection of hundreds of carefully transcribed and described tunes offers a window into this old world. Beregovski’s systematic approach presents an organized system for decoding old world klezmer names, tunes, and functions.

Workshop attendees will receive a broad overview of Beregovski’s work, focusing on Volume III: Jewish Instrumental Folk Music (Evreiskaia narodnaia instrumental’naia muzykaorient). We will then play through sheet music from the collection, hear various settings of pieces from the collection, and receive information for continued exploration of this repertoire.

Sheet music will be provided in treble clef, concert and Bb transposition. Additional transposition can be provided upon request. Musicians with basic proficiency on their instruments are welcome, as are singers, and those who are interested in listening in to learn.

About Mike Perlmutter»

To reserve a space, scroll down to BOOK EVENT, click on NEXT, and complete the registration form. Registration ends at 7am Pacific Time the day of the event. After then, write workshops@klezcalifornia.org; we cannot promise to notice your email if you contact us after the deadline.

Registering for this event includes giving KlezCalifornia permission to take still and video images and use them for educational or other organizational purposes. If you do not agree to such use, please turn off your video when you join the event. To keep you informed of future events, we enroll registrants in our free monthly newsletter which includes klezmer and Yiddish culture events in the San Francisco Bay Area and beyond. You may unsubscribe at any time. KlezCalifornia does not share its lists with other organizations.

Those who have registered by Sunday 7am Pacific Daylight Time (10am Eastern, 3pm London, 4pm Paris, 5pm Tel Aviv; please confirm local time) will receive sign-in by 8:10am Pacific Time that day. If you have not heard by then, write a.s.a.p. to workshops@klezcalifornia.org. Please do not wait until just before the event begins to notice whether you have the sign-in info.

KlezCalifornia relies on donations from participants to cover the costs of online lectures, workshops, kumzitsn, play readings, and more. Donations of $25 (or whatever you can afford) are greatly appreciated to enable us to continue to connect you with Yiddish culture and to assist presenters, many of whom have lost most of their income. Please consider donating at least the cost of a cup of coffee!

This project has been made possible in part by a grant from the Alliance for California Traditional Arts, in partnership with the Walter & Elise Haas Fund, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, Grants for the Arts, and The California Endowment.