Presented by Josh Horowitz
Co-presented by KlezCalifornia

Doinas for Dummies and Dancing Dogs, a workshop with Joshua Horowitz ONLINE

Date

Mon Jun 08 2020

Time

11 Pacific Time, 2pm New York, 7pm UK, 8pm most of Europe
11:00 am

Lecture (Workshop!) Nr. 7 of Joshua Horowitz’s Promiscuous World of Jewish Music

The workshop is free, but donations to Josh are appreciated. To register, scroll down to the bottom of this page.

This is a 1-2 hour practical class for intermediate and advanced people with any instrument that is capable of playing melodies. Josh will methodically teach teeny-tiny formulas that make up the “Yiddish Doina” beginning with the forshpil (prelude), openings, orbital phrases (Josh’s made-up term), transitional phrases, cadences, and even modulations. He’ll guide the perplexed through the forest of confusion that often surrounds this beguiling genre and show that there’s more to life than feeling inadequate about not being able to improvise well, then avoiding the whole thing by binge-watching tv and eating chocolate instead, which Josh does a lot of.

Join us in the new world of Zoom music teaching, where no one can hear your mistakes, and if you get bored you can read emails and pretend like you’re listening with your attentive Zoom face. Doinas are fun and easy to play. Trust me. I’ve spent years struggling with them.

The workshop is free. Donations to Josh are accepted and appreciated, but not required!:
paypal.me/JoshuaHorowitzCA

We are testing a new registration system to help Josh avoid going crazy responding to requests for signin info. Please do your part by registering before the deadline and encouraging others to do so as well.

To reserve a space, scroll down, click on “NEXT,” and complete the registration form. Deadline for registering is three hours before the workshop, namely Monday, June 8, 8am Pacific Time (11am Eastern Time, 4pm UK, 5pm most of Europe). Those who have registered will receive sign-in information no later than 9am Pacific Time in an email from workshops@klezcalifornia.org; please put this address in your address book so the message does not go to spam. If you have not gotten sign-in info by 9am, write workshops@klezcalifornia.org before 10am Pacific Time. Please do not wait until just before the workshop to notice whether you have the sign-in information.

Even if you have not registered, you are invited to participate in the workshop. You may start signing in 20 minutes before the workshop starting time, i.e. at 10:40am PT.
 
Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87463477387

Meeting ID: 874 6347 7387
Password: 851975

If you have difficulty getting into the workshop (or a problem during), contact Bob Blacksberg at 215.920.0302 or robert.blacksberg@gmail.com.

Please register on time next time!



Sold out!