Presented by KlezCalifornia
Co-presented by Chochmat HaLev

Kinder Yorn: Birth and Childhood, with Michael Wex

Date

Sun Jun 13 2021

Time

Pacific Time
11:00 am - 12:45 pm

Location

Online

In Michael Wex’s third presentation for KlezCalifornia, Kinder Yorn: Birth and Childhood, we will look at the stages of Yiddish life from infancy to adolescence, along with Yiddish attitudes to childbirth, infancy, and toddlerhood, with special emphasis on early education and approaches to discipline. It’s a panorama of Jewish childhood from birth to the first glimmers of maturity. The event begins 11am Pacific Time, 2pm New York, 7pm London, 8pm Paris, 9pm Tel Aviv. Please confirm your local time.

Co-presented by Jewish Community Library and Chochmat HaLev.

About Michael Wex» Author of three books on Yiddish, including the bestselling Born to Kvetch, Michael Wex, born in Lethbridge, Alberta, has taught the language at the University of Toronto and the University of Michigan and is a mainstay of the contemporary Yiddish scene. A native-speaker whose Yiddish songs have been recorded by such bands as the Grammy-winning Klezmatics, Wex has translated material ranging from classical Yiddish literature to testimony for war crimes trials. He has also translated The Threepenny Opera from German into Yiddish. His most recent book, Rhapsody in Schmaltz, a study of Ashkenazi food that did for Yiddish food what Born to Kvetch did for Yiddish speech, was published 2016 by St. Martin’s Press only a few months before the world premiere of Bobe Mayses, a collaborative spectacle by Wex, Jennifer Romaine and Alan Bern developed and produced at Yiddish Summer Weimar. His most recent major project, Baym Kabaret Yitesh, an all-Yiddish cabaret show, premiered at Yiddish Summer Weimar in 2019.

To reserve a space, scroll down to BOOK EVENT, click on NEXT, and complete the registration form. Registration ends four hours before the event, i.e. at 7am Pacific Time, 10am Eastern, 3pm London, 4pm Paris, 5pm Tel Aviv. If you want to try to participate after that, write nu@klezcalifornia.org. We cannot promise to notice your email if you register after the deadline. NOTE: THE EVENT IS NOT SOLD OUT. THE REGISTRATION SOFTWARE IS MALFUNCTIONING AND APPEARS TO HAVE CUT OFF REGISTRATION EARLY. WRITE NU@KLEZCALIFORNIA.ORG.

Registering for this event includes giving KlezCalifornia permission to take still and video images and use them for educational or other organizational purposes. If you do not agree to such use, please turn off your video when you join the event. To keep you informed of future events, we enroll registrants in our free monthly newsletter which includes klezmer and Yiddish culture events in the San Francisco Bay Area and beyond. You may unsubscribe at any time. KlezCalifornia does not share its lists with other organizations.

Those who have registered by the above deadline will receive sign-in by 8:10am Pacific Time that day. If you have not heard by then, write a.s.a.p. to nu@klezcalifornia.org. Please do not wait until just before the event begins to notice whether you have the sign-in info.

KlezCalifornia presents online events free of charge as a community service during the COVID-19 pandemic. Donations of $25 (or whatever you can afford) are greatly appreciated to enable us to continue our mission to connect you with Yiddish culture and to assist presenters who have lost most of their income.


Sold out!