Date

Sun Feb 21 2021

Time

11:00 am - 12:45 pm

Location

Online
Presented by KlezCalifornia
Co-presented by Chochmat HaLev

The Jewish Sound, with Cookie Segelstein

How do you get the Jewish sound into your instrument? What are the actual techniques to bring this elusive element into your playing? It’s not enough just to play Jewish tunes, you must make it sound evocative and familiar to your listeners. Although this workshop is best suited for string players, all are welcome, as we will explore general techniques of producing this sound.

About Cookie Segelstein»

To reserve a space, scroll down to BOOK EVENT, click on NEXT, and complete the registration form. Registration ends at 7am Pacific Time the day of the event. If you want to try to participate after that, write workshops@klezcalifornia.org. We cannot promise to notice your email if you register after the deadline.

Registering for this event includes giving KlezCalifornia permission to take still and video images and use them for educational or other organizational purposes. If you do not agree to such use, please turn off your video when you join the event. To keep you informed of future events, we enroll registrants in our free monthly newsletter which includes klezmer and Yiddish culture events in the San Francisco Bay Area and beyond. You may unsubscribe at any time. KlezCalifornia does not share its email lists with other organizations.

Those who register by Sunday 7am Pacific Time will receive sign-in by 8:10am Pacific Time that day. If you have not heard by then, write a.s.a.p. to workshops@klezcalifornia.org. Please do not wait until just before the workshop begins to notice whether you have the sign-in info.

The workshop begins at 11am Pacific Time (2pm Eastern Time, 7pm UK, 8pm most of Europe, 9pm Israel).

KlezCalifornia is presenting Yiddish culture workshops free of charge as a community service. However donations of $25 (or whatever you can afford) are needed to enable us to continue to offer workshops and to assist artists who have lost performance income.

General information about KlezCalifornia workshops


Sold out!