REGISTER
Presented by KlezCalifornia
Co-presented by Chochmat HaLev and Jewish Community Library

Mame-loshn? Yiddish in Israel, with Yael Chaver

Date

Sun Sep 12 2021

Time

Pacific Time
11:00 am - 12:45 pm

Location

Online

Yael Chaver will trace the trajectory of Yiddish in pre-statehood Palestine and in the State of Israel. Zionist ideology set up Yiddish as the most noticeable symbol of life in Diaspora – goles – and called for its rejection in the new Zionist community. But Yiddish continued to survive and thrive, as it was the mother-tongue for most of Israel’s founders. After Israel was established in 1948, great numbers of Yiddish-speaking Holocaust survivors came to the country, and Yiddish newspapers, magazines, and theater filled their needs. Over the years, though, social pressures and demographic changes led to its being less used. Recently, there has been a resurgence of interest in Yiddish in Israel, both as ancestral mame-loshn and as the vehicle of an incredibly rich culture. There are classes at all levels, and summer immersion programs for students from all over the world. Pop-culture phenomena such as the Shtisel television series are attracting many new enthusiasts. It is the home language of most ultra-orthodox Israeli Jews. Yiddish in Israel is in no danger of dying out.

Co-presented by Jewish Community Library and Chochmat HaLev.

About Yael Chaver»

To reserve a space, scroll down to BOOK EVENT, click on NEXT, and complete the registration form. Registration ends four hours before the event, i.e. at 7am Pacific Time, 10am Eastern, 3pm London, 4pm Paris, 5pm Tel Aviv. If you want to try to participate after that, write nu@klezcalifornia.org. We cannot promise to notice your email if you register after the deadline.

Registering for this event includes giving KlezCalifornia permission to take still and video images and use them for educational or other organizational purposes. If you do not agree to such use, please turn off your video when you join the event. To keep you informed of future events, we enroll registrants in our free monthly newsletter which includes klezmer and Yiddish culture events in the San Francisco Bay Area and beyond. You may unsubscribe at any time. KlezCalifornia does not share its lists with other organizations.

Those who have registered by the above deadline will receive sign-in by 8:10am Pacific Time that day. If you have not heard by then, write a.s.a.p. to nu@klezcalifornia.org. Please do not wait until just before the event begins to notice whether you have the sign-in info.

KlezCalifornia presents online events free of charge as a community service. Donations of $25 (or whatever you can afford) are greatly appreciated to enable us to continue our mission to connect you with Yiddish culture.


Book Event

Yiddish in Israel, 9/12/21

1 Ticket selected.

Available Tickets: 499

The Yiddish in Israel, 9/12/21 ticket is sold out. You can try another ticket or another date.