Date

Sun Nov 21 2021

Time

Pacific Standard Time
11:00 am - 12:45 pm

Location

Online
Presented by KlezCalifornia
Co-presented by Chochmat Halev

Great Songs of the Yiddish Theater + Khanike Songs, a workshop with Cindy Paley

The American Yiddish musical theater was a powerful force in the turn-of-the-century immigrant experience. The theater brought to life the immigrant’s dreams, their difficulties in the new world, and the nostalgia for their old country. We’ll sing songs by Molly Picon. Aaron Lebedeff, and the great composers: Alexander Olshanetsky, Abraham Ellstein, Joseph Rumsinsky, Sholom Secunda and others. We’ll close with Khanike songs. Lomir Zingen! The event begins 11am Pacific Time (2pm Eastern, 7pm London, 8pm Paris, 9pm Tel Aviv. ). About Cindy Paley» Cindy Paley has delighted Jewish communities with her timeless albums and dynamic performances. As music educator at Valley Beth Shalom (in Encino, California) for 36 years, she brought Jewish music to countless children. For the past 20 years she has been the cantorial soloist for Lev Eisha and Valley Beth Shalom’s N’shama Minyan, two women’s services in Los Angeles. Additionally, Cindy performs Yiddish music throughout California and Poland and teaches annual workshops at the Krakow Jewish Culture Festival. Although she is best known for Jewish music, Cindy also performs American folk songs of the 1960s with a trio called The Folk Experience. To reserve a space, scroll down to BOOK EVENT, click on NEXT, and complete the registration form. Registration ends the day of the event at 7am Pacific Time (10am Eastern, 3pm London, 4pm Paris, 5pm Tel Aviv) to receive sign-in by 8:10am PDT that day. If you have not heard by then, first check your spam folder, then write to workshops@klezcalifornia.org. Do not wait until just before the event begins to check whether you have sign-in info. If you have not registered on time, write workshops@klezcalifornia.org; we cannot promise to notice your email if you contact us after the deadline. Registering for this event includes giving KlezCalifornia permission to take still and video images and use them for educational or other organizational purposes. If you do not agree to such use, please turn off your video when you join the event. To keep you informed of future events, we enroll registrants in our free monthly newsletter which includes klezmer and Yiddish culture events in the San Francisco Bay Area and beyond. You may unsubscribe at any time. KlezCalifornia does not share its lists with other organizations. KlezCalifornia relies on donations from participants to cover the costs of online lectures, workshops, kumzitsn, play readings, and more. Donations of $25 (or whatever you can afford) are greatly appreciated to enable us to continue to connect you with Yiddish culture and to assist presenters, many of whom have lost most of their income. This project has been made possible in part by a grant from the Alliance for California Traditional Arts, in partnership with the Walter & Elise Haas Fund, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, Grants for the Arts, and The California Endowment.