Date

Sun Apr 18 2021

Time

Pacific Time
11:00 am - 12:45 pm

Dos Goldene Land: Yiddish Song Workshop with Cindy Paley

Join with Cindy Paley to learn and sing Yiddish songs of immigrant pain and joy. Immigrants’ dreams and difficulties in the New World, as well as their nostalgia for the old country, were brought to life in the Yiddish theatre, sparking a “golden” age of creativity for Yiddish literature. Selections will include a music hall number by Boris Tomashefsky, a turn-of-the-century Yiddish penny song, and music by the labor poets. We will conclude with the new This Land is Your Land in Yiddish. Song sheets will be provided in transliteration with English translations.

The event begins 11am PDT (2pm Eastern, 7pm London, 8pm Paris, 9pm Tel Aviv).

About Cindy Paley» Cindy Paley has delighted Jewish communities with her timeless albums and dynamic performances. As the music educator at Valley Beth Shalom (in Encino, California) for 36 years, she brought Jewish music to countless children. For the past 20 years she has been the cantorial soloist for Lev Eisha and Valley Beth Shalom’s N’shama Minyan, two women’s services in Los Angeles. Additionally, Cindy performs Yiddish music throughout California and Poland and teaches annual workshops at the Krakow Jewish Culture Festival. Although she is best known for Jewish music, Cindy also performs American folk songs of the 1960s with a trio called The Folk Experience.

To reserve a space, scroll down to BOOK EVENT, click on NEXT, and complete the registration form. Registration ends the day of the event at 7am PDT (10am Eastern, 3pm London, 4pm Paris, 5pm Tel Aviv) to receive sign-in by 8:10am PDT that day. If you have not heard by then, first check your spam folder, then write to workshops@klezcalifornia.org. Do not wait until just before the event begins to check whether you have sign-in info. If you have not registered on time, write workshops@klezcalifornia.org; we cannot promise to notice your email if you contact us after the deadline.

Registering for this event includes giving KlezCalifornia permission to take still and video images and use them for educational or other organizational purposes. If you do not agree to such use, please turn off your video when you join the event. To keep you informed of future events, we enroll registrants in our free monthly newsletter which includes klezmer and Yiddish culture events in the San Francisco Bay Area and beyond. You may unsubscribe at any time. KlezCalifornia does not share its lists with other organizations.

KlezCalifornia relies on donations from participants to cover the costs of online lectures, workshops, kumzitsn, play readings, and more. Donations of $25 (or whatever you can afford) are greatly appreciated to enable us to continue to connect you with Yiddish culture and to assist presenters, many of whom have lost most of their income.

This project has been made possible in part by a grant from the Alliance for California Traditional Arts, in partnership with the Walter & Elise Haas Fund, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, Grants for the Arts, and The California Endowment.