Date

Mon Jun 21 2021

Time

PDT
11:00 am

Location

Online

Josh Horowitz presents: Ask Drs. Klez: All you ever wanted to know, blah, blah

Lecture #52 in Joshua Horowitz’s series, The Promiscuous World of Jewish Music

Ask Drs. Klez: All you ever wanted to know, blah, blah, with Josh Horowitz

Monday, June 21, 11am Pacific Time/2pm New York/ 7pm London/ 8pm Paris/ 9pm Tel Aviv. Please confirm the local time.

Length: 1 – 2 hours

Donations to Josh Horowitz are accepted and appreciated, but not required.

Zoom Meeting ID: 967 8901 9038
Password: 156230

There is a Zoom limit of 100 participants. You do not need to register; simply use the sign-in info above.

This is the “All you ever wanted to know about Jewish music but were afraid to ask” session.

Musicians, musicologists and everyone in between are invited to celebrate the marking of one year of Promiscuous Presentations (52 of them, yay!), with an open forum Q & A wherein we pool our knowledge into one diffuse discussion. Lecture begone – let’s cut straight to the chase! No holds barred, all questions welcome, no matter how silly or salacious.

For instance… Why does my dog bark when it hears freygish? How do you get rid of adrenaline buzz so you can sleep after a gig? How do I get my bandmates to memorize their parts so we can be off book? Do the Sephardim have an instrumental tradition? If all of us in my group are at different levels, should we play only easy pieces? Did Beregovsky have a secret lover? Is there a synonym for synonym? All are invited despite Zoom fatigue.

About Joshua Horowitz»

This project has been made possible in part by a grant from the Alliance for California Traditional Arts, in partnership with the Walter & Elise Haas Fund, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, Grants for the Arts, and The California Endowment.