Date

Mon Aug 16 2021

Time

Pacific Time
11:00 am - 12:45 pm

Location

Online

Beyond the Dance of Death: Judith Berg’s Career in Interwar Warsaw

Lecture #57 in Joshua Horowitz’s series, The Promiscuous World of Jewish Music

Beyond the Dance of Death: Judith Berg’s Career in Interwar Warsaw, with Sonia Gollance

Monday, August 16, 11am Pacific Time/2pm New York/ 7pm London/ 8pm Paris/ 9pm Tel Aviv. Please confirm the local time.

Length: 1 – 2 hours

Donations to Josh Horowitz are accepted and appreciated, but not required.

Zoom Meeting ID: 967 8901 9038
Password: 156230

Although there is a Zoom limit of 100 participants,  there’s always plenty of room. You do not need to register; simply use the sign-in info above.

Modern dancer Judith Berg (1905-1992) is best known as the choreographer for the film adaptation of Sh. An-sky’s Der dibek (The Dybbuk). Yet although she was a celebrity in 1930s Warsaw, most archival collections focus on her post-war life in the United States. This lack of pre-war materials has the rather unfortunate effect of erasing some of Berg’s most significant contributions, especially since archival collections emphasize the career of her husband, dance partner, and former student Felix Fibich. Using Yiddish and Polish-Jewish press materials, as well as archival sources, Dr. Sonia Gollance will reconstruct Berg’s interwar career and involvement in the Warsaw Jewish art world, including the contemporaneous reception to her work, Berg’s engagement with other Polish Jewish artists and the Warsaw theater world, and her involvement with European modern dance more broadly.

 

 

About Joshua Horowitz»