Tremoloing Before God: The Mandolin in Jewish Life, with Eric Stein

Date

Mon Apr 19 2021

Time

PDT
11:00 am

Location

Online

Lecture #45 in Joshua Horowitz’s series, The Promiscuous World of Jewish Music

Tremoloing Before God: The Mandolin in Jewish Life, presented by Eric Stein

Monday, April 26, 11am Pacific Time/2pm New York/ 7pm London/ 8pm Paris/ 9pm Tel Aviv. Please confirm the local time !

Length: 1 – 2 hours

Donations to Josh Horowitz are accepted and appreciated, but not required.

Zoom Meeting ID: 967 8901 9038
Password: 156230

There is a Zoom limit of 100 participants. You do not need to register; simply use the sign-in info above.

The mandolin has a rich history in Jewish musical life. In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, mandolin clubs and community orchestras were ubiquitous in Jewish Eastern Europe and in North American immigrant communities. Frequently associated with progressive social and political movements, the instrument served a central role in early musical education at Jewish schools and provided one of the only means of musical expression for women in pre-war Jewish communities. Though the instrument was rarely associated with the professional musical traditions of pre-war Jewish life, many Jewish mandolinists would eventually emerge among the most influential practitioners of the instrument, within a variety of different musical styles. In this presentation, Toronto-based mandolinist Eric Stein explores this long-overlooked history, sharing rare photos, ephemera and recordings from a number of Jewish mandolin legends, and placing the Jewish affinity for the instrument in the context of broader musical and cultural trends.

About Eric Stein» Mandolinist, bassist, bandleader, artistic director and producer, Toronto’s Eric Stein has been a prominent figure in Canada’s folk, world, and Jewish-roots music scenes for over 20 years. He is founder/leader of the innovative klezmer/balkan fusion group Beyond the Pale, with whom he has performed across North America, Europe, Brazil and Australia and released four award-winning albums. Eric also leads the Brazilian choro ensemble Tio Chorinho, is a member of the international supergroup the Ger Mandolin Orchestra, and has performed with a number of other leading world, folk and classical artists. Eric is also Artistic Director of Toronto’s Ashkenaz Festival, one of the world’s largest celebrations of Jewish music and culture.

About Joshua Horowitz»

This project has been made possible in part by a grant from the Alliance for California Traditional Arts, in partnership with the Walter & Elise Haas Fund, the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, Grants for the Arts, and The California Endowment.