Date

Mon Jun 01 2020

Time

11:00 am - 1:00 pm

Location

Online
Presented by Joshua Horowitz
Co-presented by KlezCalifornia

What the hell were you thinking, Gustav?, with Joshua Horowitz

Lecture 6 of The Promiscuous World of Jewish Music Series by Joshua Horowitz

Monday, June 1, 11am Pacific Time / 2pm Eastern Time / 7pm UK / 8pm most of Europe.

The lecture is free, but donations to Josh are appreciated. To register, scroll down to the bottom of this page.

Why do we keep finding Jewish musical morsels in every composer since the first medieval Jewish bard, Antonicus Prohíacus? Did Gustav Mahler really unwittingly compose part of “Fiddler on the Roof”? Is there a formula to calculate the difference between what a composer intended and what musicologists assert?

This lecture chronicles the interconnection between Jewish and classical music from the Medieval to Contemporary eras. Beginning with the earliest western Jewish exemplars, we’ll either find — or contest the findings of — Jewishness in the works of Baroque, Classical, Romantic, Impressionist and Post-Modern works. Josh will offer some compositional insights into the hotly contested “Jewish” elements in the classical world and continually ask, “What is Jewish in this and why do we even care?”

Bring your own Meyerbeer.

About Joshua Horowitz»

We are testing a new registration system to help Josh avoid going crazy responding to requests for signin info. Please do your part by registering this way before the deadline and encouraging others to do so as well.

To reserve a space, scroll down, click on “NEXT,” and complete the registration form. Deadline for registering is Monday, June 1, 8am Pacific Time (11am Eastern Time, 4pm UK, 5pm most of Europe). Those who have registered will receive sign-in information no later than 9am Pacific Time in an email from wordpress@klezcalifornia.org.If you have registered but not gotten sign-in info by 9am, write nu@klezcalifornia.org before 10am Pacific Time. There will be room for anyone who is interested. Note we do not respond to email on Shabes.

UPDATE: The software on this site, a WordPress platform, is having some glitches. Here is the sign-in information for those of you who have registered and didn’t get it at 8:05 PT, or have not yet registered:

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82110683337

Meeting ID: 821 1068 3337

Password: 457518

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82110683337

Sold out!